Gilman Teacher of the Year

For the first time, two competing awards with similar criteria (the Gilman award and the Teacher of the Year Award) will be combined to create the Gilman Teacher of the Year. This change is intended to allow schools to select one exemplary teacher in their building. Each school should be represented. All nominees will be recognized at the Gilman Teacher of the Year ceremony on May 10, 2010, where the School Board will present an award to each teacher.

The Henrico Education Foundation sponsors the Gilman Teacher of the Year program. Their support means that the five finalists will receive $500 each and the winner will receive $1,000. All school-level winners, the finalists, and the winner will be honored at a reception with Foundation and School Board members.

Each school is encouraged to nominate a candidate for this meaningful honor. Nominees should be exceptionally skillful and dedicated teachers who plan to continue their careers and who have superior abilities to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities. (Only those who spend 80 percent of their time in classroom instruction are eligible.) Please seek faculty input regarding the nominee from your staff.

The Henrico winner then competes for the State Teacher of the Year and if selected competes for the National Teacher of the Year.

Criteria for selection include the following:

  • a minimum of five years service in Henrico County Schools
  • an established instructional reputation including outstanding performance
  • innovative leadership, and consistent active service in the life of the school
  • an exemplary professional lifestyle characterized by specific contributions toward improving the educational profession.

Henrico First-Year Teacher Award Program

Each year the Henrico County Public Schools recognize outstanding first-year teachers. Nominees are teachers who are in their first year of teaching and are deserving of recognition for exceptional performance. Each school with an eligible teacher may nominate one candidate. These nominees will also be recognized at the Gilman Teacher of the Year ceremony on May 10, 2010. Winners will be recognized by the School Board, receive a plaque and their names will be placed on a plaque in the Central Office.

Competencies include

  • interaction with students
  • interaction with faculty
  • interaction with parents

Henrico Instructional Leader of the Year Award

Any HCPS employee may nominate a deserving individual for the Instructional Leader of the Year Award. This year, an Instructional Leader will be recognized in each of the following three categories: Principal, Assistant Principal, and Central Office representative from the Division of Instruction. These winners will be recognized during the opening activities in August.

Criteria for nominations include outstanding strengths in the following areas:

  • instructional leadership
  • school/community relations
  • school climate
  • student achievement

A panel of teachers and administrators make a final recommendation to the Superintendent. Finalists are recognized during the opening activities in August of each year.

For questions or more information on Gilman Teacher of the Year, Henrico First Year Teacher of the Year, or Henrico Instructional Leader of the Year awards, contact (804) 652-3675.

Henrico 21

Information coming soon!
Henrico 21 rubric
Tentative Schedule

R.E.B. Awards for Teaching Excellence

The R.E.B. Awards for Teaching Excellence were established in 1988 to recognize public school teachers who have distinguished themselves by their inspiring classroom performance. The program has been developed by The Community Foundation and is funded by the R.E.B. Foundation.

The R.E.B. Foundation believes that a child's educational experience at the elementary, middle, and high school levels should develop basic skills and form positive life-long habits towards learning and discipline. The R.E.B. Foundation is committed to improving public education so as to benefit a broad segment of the community.

The awards are designed to identify, recognize, and support teaching excellence in the metropolitan Richmond public school systems. Grants ranging from $2,000 to $10,000 are given to approximately fifteen teachers to support professional development activities. Recipients are required to share educational ideas and experiences with fellow teachers.

The Community Foundation invites nominations from students, parents, teaching colleagues, other school personnel, and the community at-large. The ten-member Steering committee reviews each nomination to determine final candidates. Final candidates are asked to submit proposals for use of the award.

For questions on this award, please contact Public Relations at 652-3535.

The Christie Award

This award recognizes an outstanding exceptional education teacher. The winner will be recognized at the Gilman Teacher of the Year ceremony on May 10, 2010.

For questions on this award, please contact Barbara Driver 652-3866